My Desk

My laptop rests on its cooling plate
a mouse attached, on a rare mouse pad
one of only twenty that exist.
A box, filled with CDs and DVDs, and a
floppy disk drive on top, fully functional, and still used.
A cup of pencils, and pens, a paintbrush, a pair of scissors,
two wooden rods, an American flag, and a comb
with one tooth missing despite having never been used.
A digital clock, an almost empty bottle of glue, and post-it notes,
some in their dispenser, others posted around,
my incomprehensible notes scrawled on them
(the cords are ax B).
A green Christmas ornament, two cotton balls,
an old tin can, its label removed,
with the words “safety pins” haphazardly taped on,
less than a quarter filled.
An empty stapler rests under a data cable.
The periodic table and a date stamp,
that ends in 2000, and thus, is useless.
A lamp, a pencil sharpener, three dessert dishes, filled with
clips and rubber bands.  A framed set of coins,
on the wall behind, as is a hook with a key,
my flash drive, and France hanging from it.
An index card, with somebody’s e-mail written on it;
I’ve long forgotten whose.
Black metal shelves, packed with random papers,
return address stickers, and a box from a video game,
over ten years old, the instruction manual resting beside it.
A blue glass bird, with its beak slightly worn,
and the name of its sculptor signed on the underside.
A brown notebook, its cover on in reverse,
a small man, doing pull-ups on a bar on the shelf
a yellow notepad, and notes,
a bucket of beads, mostly yellow and brown
with a skunk where its lid should be.
A cardboard tube, covered in aluminum foil,
standing upright, next to a box of blank paper.
And in front of it all, my chair,
covered in smooth, navy blue fabric,
where I sit to relax, do my work, or simply live.


Author’s Notes (may contain spoilers):

So this is my first poem published here: “My Desk”. The first draft was written during my college creative writing class, where there was a practice assignment to write a list poem. My first thought was to do a list of things on my desk at home. I thought the combination of the mundane and more bizzare items would make for an interesting poem, and I thought it turned out quite well. However, my desk has since been reorganized when I got my new laptop, so many of these items are no longer there. On the other hand, there are some other new items which I think might have fit well in the poem: a broken brown crayon, a stack of blank DVDs, a papercraft Zoroark, a swiss army knife, and much more.

The end of the poem is meant to summarize the purpose of all these items: they are the contents of my desk, which is where I sit when I’m writing, playing a game on my computer, or these days, it’s quite simply where I sit when I have nowhere better to be, and am not pacing the room waiting for inspiration. As for the significance of the individual items, well, I’m not really sure…

One thought on “My Desk

  1. Pingback: Reflection: Poetry | White Rakogis's Lair

Leave a comment:

