Reflection: My Writing Style Might Not Be Your Style

Well, I’ve written about thirty posts so far in my weekly (usually weekly, at least) writing reflections.  Lately, I’ve been reflecting on my reflections quite a bit, and what I’ve been saying in them.

I post my reflections as a way for me to talk about my writing process, make this blog become more than just somebody posting stories, let my followers know me a little better.  I’ve previously done a whole reflection post about my reflections, so I won’t go on about this at the moment.

Also, I’ve hoped I could share my experiences with others.  I may only be a hobbyist, but who knows, something I write here may inspire somebody in a big way, or help somebody trying to write their own stories.  But despite that, I am writing about my style of writing: my own methodologies, what I find works for me, and what doesn’t.  My style might not be yours.

The difference in style could be as simple as preferred genre.  I usually write science fiction, fantasy, or supernatural fiction.  I usually find realistic and historical fiction a bit boring to write, yet both of these genres are quite popular.  Different genres have to be approached different ways; writing a story of a more realistic, down-to-earth genre requires a different mindset from a science fiction or fantasy story.

It could also go as far as tropes they like to use.  I like to use Chekhov’s Gun, but other authors may not use it quite as much as I do.  I like to write sudden, twist endings, but other writers may prefer building up to a more predictable, but satisfying ending.

But when I talk about writing style, I’m not simply referring to what can be clearly seen in the story itself; I’m referring to the entire writing process.

For some other writer, they may find that they can consciously search for ideas, rather than waiting for them.  This method doesn’t work for me, but somebody else may find it to be the only method that works for them.  I’ll always advise people against that, as my experience tells me it doesn’t work, but if it works for them, that’s fine.  They’re not doing anything wrong.

Other writers may have their own ideas on how to get inspiration, develop ideas, or methods on how to effectively implement Chekhov’s Gun.  That’s fine too.

Basically, I wrote this post simply to clarify one thing: I’m writing about my experiences writing, and what I think makes a good story.  I am not an English professor, so nothing I say is the definite truth.  I always write my reflections in the first person.  I would hope that other aspiring writers may benefit from my experiences and opinions, but ultimately, it’s up to them whether they find my experiences helpful or not.

As a writer writes more, and finds what works and what doesn’t, he’ll start to develop his own style, both inside the story, and the writing process.

Well, a rather odd topic for today – I don’t even know how people are reading my reflections anyway, and if this is something I really need to say.  Either way, it’s good to clarify.  White Rakogis, signing off.

Leave a comment:

