Reflection: A Blogging Vacation

So, yeah, for the past month and a half, I took a blogging vacation, and honestly, I think it was quite helpful.  Sure, I didn’t get as many stories written as I wanted, but I did make some progress on my bigger projects.  Besides, letting the ideas flow without feeling the need to stick to my schedule was sure refreshing.

Let’s face it – sticking to a blogging schedule is tough.  There are times when I just don’t feel quite as inspired to write a new stand-alone short story or reflection post.  That conflicts with one of the most important things a blogger needs to do: post regularly.  Sadly, I was getting a little burned out in late June, hence the fact that my story/poetry posting slowed down a bit, and ultimately, my decision to take a vacation.

I’ve said it many times: inspiration isn’t something that can be forced.  The best ideas must come naturally, meaning they may not always come on such a regular basis.  Hence, the whole idea of posting on a particular schedule fights with the way inspiration works.  Once again, sticking to a schedule is tough.

This is why I think taking a break every now and then is a good idea.  Rather than try to force ideas out, and end up with several mediocre reflection posts and low quality stories that could come back to bite me later, I can just wait for the good ideas to develop at their natural pace, and hopefully end up with a nice backlog of ideas for the next few months.

Of course, it will be even better to try and produce a buffer of posts, so I can take a break without really showing it.  In the next few months, I plan to start uploading Evaira volume two, which I made some good progress on in the past several weeks.  In that time, I plan to work a bit harder on building a buffer.

I’ll be back to posting stories in the next couple weeks too, possibly including some of the first non-fiction stories I’ll be posting here.  I may not like writing non-fiction much, but recent events made me feel like there are a few things worth writing about – experiences worth sharing in a manner a bit more serious (and not as closely related to writing) than my reflection posts.

So I was able to avoid getting too burned out by taking a vacation.  I’d imagine every blogger takes a break from their blog now and then.  Currently, as I’m writing my first post-vacation reflection post, I feel like the ideas are coming out much smoother than in some of my more recent pre-vacation posts.  I’m rarely finding the need to go back and edit things (Ironically, I made a lot of typos when I first wrote that last sentence, and had to go edit that one quite a bit).

Anyway, that’s all for now.  White Rakogis is signing off.

Leave a comment:

