Reflection: Time for Writing

I’ve found that the best way to get some serious work done on whatever story I’m writing is to designate a period of time, however short, to just sit down and write.  If I just sit down and write, I’ve often surprised myself with what ends up on my laptop screen, and I basically just get things done.

When I was in college, I had found the train commute, which was somewhat lengthy, was the perfect time to take out my laptop and start writing.  The trains were never as noisy as you’d expect, and there are not many distractions there (except during the week of the Philadelphia Flower Show)  For several years, that was my designated writing time, and I stuck to it pretty well.

Unfortunately, despite having graduated over a year ago now, I’m still struggling to find a new designated writing time.  I’m still writing a lot, of course, but I definitely have slowed down since my graduation, and I do think part of this is because I’m still looking for a new designated writing time.  I’ve tried a few routines, but have had trouble sticking to them.

Back in high school, my designated writing time was just an hour or so in the evening, but a lot has changed since then, and it’s no longer that simple.  Maybe I’ve gotten used to the train environment, or maybe I’ve just changed in other ways.

But enough about my rants about my personal schedule, I should focus on the subject at hand.  Having some designated writing time just gets things done.

Mind you, I never was strict about my schedules.  Even on the train, some days I just wasn’t in the mood, or had writer’s block, or was addicted to some video game on my laptop or something.  Even then, I wrote most of the time, so skipping a train ride or two doesn’t hurt.  Especially when similarly I might do some unplanned writing when I come up with a really good idea, or just get in the mood, which balances it out.

So, now that I’ve come to the end of my reflection: what about you, fellow writers?  When do you usually write?  Do you designate writing time, or just write whenever the mood fits?  As the last year proves, the latter doesn’t work well for me, but my style may not be your style.

Regardless, though, for now, White Rakogis is signing off!

Leave a comment:

