Reflection: Disillusionment and the Nature of the Internet

So, mid-2013, I came onto the Internet with a few finished stories, and a plan.  I’d get my stories out there, hopefully find some followers, and slowly gather fans.  I’d get some valuable feedback, meet friends, and hopefully pave the road for ultimately being published.

Sadly, like everybody who starts down a road, I had big dreams, big visions, but it all clashed with the reality of the situation.  It’s a fight to get a blog noticed, an even bigger one to get real, legitimate comments.  So many aspects of Internet culture just seem to clash with the way things should work.  Lately, I’ve gotten a bit disillusioned about the whole thing.

Maybe I’m being paranoid here, but I get the feeling that a number of my so-called followers are not exactly interested in what I have to say, and are really just following to get me to notice them.

Sure, I get lots of likes, but I’ve made my opinion on likes very clear.  If somebody likes without commenting, I have no way of knowing that they actually do like my story and why.  They may just be using the “like” as a way of advertising their own blog.  In some cases, I’ve had people like my stories so soon after I post them, that they could not have read them that fast.

Then there’s Twitter.  There’s a rather disturbing trend of people unfollowing people who don’t immediately follow back.  If you ask me, you should only follow people who have interesting things to tweet, people you want to hear from, or close friends – you don’t want to flood your tweet timeline.  If somebody’s interested in what I have to say, it shouldn’t matter if I follow them back or not.  Heck, you might change my mind if you send me some good replies.

Everybody says the best way to actually get real followers is for me to go out and follow others, comment.  Well, I unfortunately have a phobia of posting on the internet.  I know what the anonymity can do to people.  Here, at least, I control the comments.

It also makes me wonder how all this started.  Somebody had to be the recipient of somebody else’s first move.  Anyway, I think I’ve ranted enough.  I’ll be back with another reflection next week if I have an idea.  White Rakogis is signing off.

2 thoughts on “Reflection: Disillusionment and the Nature of the Internet

Leave a comment:

