Reflection: Transitioning

So, lately, I’ve been working on my latest big writing project, another project of similar size to Cromm (which reminds me – got to get that one published, once I figure out the best way to do it), and I had a little bit of a dilemma.

I’ve got two big, important scenes, and the section between them just seems a little abrupt – like I’m just jumping from one big event to the next.  It’s a multiple-day time jump, and it just seems a bit jarring when I look it over.  As part of my style, I usually try to avoid big time jumps in the middle of the story.  Yet I can’t think of much else I can put in that time period.

I know what they say about eliminating unnecessary details, so I’ve got this part of the story broken down into several big events, cause and effect, but it’s sometimes difficult to write a good natural transition between scenes.  I mean, I usually can do it, but these scenes in particular seem difficult.

In general, I would first need to set up for the event, then make it happen, and finally, deal with the aftermath and consequences of the event – and these consequences should flow into the next one.  Sometimes, the first event causes the second (either directly or indirectly), but other times, they are separate.

In this case, it might be a good opportunity to add some side scenes about some of the other characters, and try and introduce some concepts and relationships that will come into play later.  It also might be a good idea to just come back to that section later.  Something I write in a later chapter might need to be set up earlier, and this would be a good place to do it.  I do love my Chekhov’s Guns.

In this case, I have the cause and effect set up for several events after the second big scene.  I know the implications of that one, and how I’m going to write them.  In the end, a story is a series of connected events.  There may be some red herrings, but most of the events are related.  Following this cause and effect pattern should allow the story to flow more naturally.

So, what are your opinions on transitioning between big scenes?  Any good suggestions – I could use them?  For now, though, White Rakogis is signing off.

Leave a comment:

